• A House Is Not A Home

Pau Masaló works as a director and playwright, graphic designer, teacher and artistic director of the project Contenidos Superfluos. Together with Martín Torres, he is the founder of Editorial Superflua. For more than four years he was part of the Sala Hiroshima team, a space dedicated to the exhibition and production of contemporary dance and performance. He has a degree in Directing and Dramaturgy (Institut del Teatre, Barcelona) and in Audiovisual Communication (Pompeu Fabra University), and has also studied at the Universidad del Cine in Buenos Aires. Co-founder of the Ignífuga (Fireproof) theatre company, of which he was its director for five years. In 2016, his project Utopia received the Adrià Gual Award from the Institut del Teatre in Barcelona. In 2019, he participated as co-creator of the Catalonia pavilion at the Prague Scenography Quadrennial, receiving the award for best exhibition. His latest shows are The National Body (Festival Grec - Sala Hiroshima) and Dormitory Town (Teatre Lliure, Critics Award for Best Show in Street Arts). During the season 2022/2023, he will be the resident artist at Teatre Lliure, where he will premiere the project Farewell, Petroleum!
His academic background (related to the audiovisual world) and his professional experience (as a designer) are evident in his productions, which have a markedly visual character. His works always demonstrate a clear desire for political reflection around a specific topic, which is revisited from different points of view. Generally his works take their inspiration from classic texts of universal literature. Lately, his artistic interest has focused on the relationship between the representation of the real and the fictional construction of the story. His productions never avoid a direct dialogue with the viewer and always seek to generate a sense of ephemeral community between the artists and the audience. He often collaborates with other companies and artistic collectives (Atresbandes, Hotel Col·lectiu Escènic - Lisi Estaras, Carla Rovira, Albert Quesada, Roberto Romei, Herman@s Picohueso…).